Skip to content

The V&A

February 20, 2012

After breakfast we popped into the Victoria & Albert Museum.

Fun Facts about the V&A:

  • It’s the world’s largest museum of decorative arts.
  • This means it houses all kinds of things like ceramics, textiles, costumes, jewelry, furniture, medieval objects, sculptures, & photographs.
  • Must sees:
    • the British Galleries–which look at British lifestyle and taste, and who influenced this, from 1500 to 1900.
    • The Jewelry Rooms–complete with tiaras. and swords for the fellows in the group.
  • It’s FREE :)
  • It’s open everyday of the week, including Sunday

Just tryin’ to fit in.

Beautiful

Original Beatrix Potter illustration–the author of The Tale of Petter Rabbit

The Breakfast Dress

Costume from Lion King the Musical

*You cannot take photos inside the jewelry exhibit so this is a postcard image from the V&A–there are so many breathtaking tiaras, including ones with bows!

Finally, a stunning Chihuly in the lobby. One of my personal favorites.

Unfortunately the girls & I didn’t have much time to spend her so we saw a few of the collections and then had to run along. However, you could spend the entire day here and not see everything. The museum seems to go on forever and there is something for everyone. Definitely a must-see in London.

But it was off to Trafalgar Square for us. More photos tomorrow– I’m currently late to a date with Prince Caspian & his little lion friend.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2012 8:32 pm

    I only had a little bit of time to spend here, and I spent it all in the jewelry collection. everything was so stunning! and then I spent the rest of my time in the gift shop trying to find a book with pictures of the collection. I had to settle for some postcards of their most famous pieces, but I will definitely be going back the next time I am in London.

    • February 21, 2012 9:51 am

      We spent almost all of our time in the jewelry collection as well. Seeing that I live so close to London I may go back to check out the British Galleries a little more. I love being able to spend the entire day at one museum and unfortunately that’s just not possible when you’re trying to see all of London in under three days. I hope you make it back soon!

  2. February 21, 2012 9:53 am

    My dear,
    I found your blog by chance, while peeking others and I decided to check it out! I’m glad I did it, because I am really delighted with yours. It’s beautiful, well structured, interesting, sweet amazing [probably your own qualities right?] and it has completely got me hooked. I think we’re going to get along just fine! ;)
    I’d like to invite you to follow each other. I’d be very pleased.
    I wish you lots of success and will surely come back often
    kisses

    http://cottoncandy-peaches@blogspot.com/

    • February 21, 2012 9:58 am

      How sweet :) I am looking at your blog now. I absolutely love the photo of the empty white frames on the white wall. I may just need to have a decorating party when I get home from England…

Leave a Reply

