Skip to content

sugar, sugar

February 17, 2012

ah–honey honey. you are my candy girl.

So other than learning all about international legal treaties and reading pages upon pages of case law– all of which would probably bore most of you–I have also been learning some great basic skills while over here in Oxford. For starters, I’ve finally accepted that cooking and eating in is infinitely less expensive and a must for any girl on a budget (or a girl who would rather spend her pocket change on coffee & pretty things)

However–this cooking thing comes with a catch. Not only do you physically have to cook the stuff you still have to buy the ingredients. Groceries aren’t free contrary to what you may have believed growing up with mommy’s car & Giant Eagle gift card. So starting now I am going to share with you, my lovely readers, some secret recipes I have found to be scrumptious, easy to make, and–most importantly–require limited ingredients. I try to find recipes which call for things that most people already have lying around in their cupboards. Each recipe may have a max of one to three things you’ll need to go out and buy and nothing should ever exceed five quid.

So here you have it–Homemade–that means from scratch–sugar cookies

For the most part you should already have most these ingredients minus perhaps the large amount of butter needed. Trust me when I say the extra pound for another block of butter is waaaaaay worth it.

What you’ll need:

3 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp nutmeg
20 Tbsp (2½ sticks) butter, room temp
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 tsp vanilla

 Preheat the oven to 375˚F

Voilà

 Your own homemade sugar cookies. Ain’t that sweet.

Cheers

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 10:18 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. These cookies look really good :)

  2. February 18, 2012 10:15 pm

    Wow, the sparkling sugar on top looks so elegant! I see you used a fancy-looking sugar- are the granules thicker than normal or do you think regular sugar will accomplish that look?

    • February 19, 2012 5:10 am

      To be totally honest, I just used regular sugar. The sugar I have was bought over here in England so I can’t help by giving the exact brand, but I’m sure any old sugar would do the trick. The key is sprinkling it onto the cookies before you put them in the oven. That way the sugar doesn’t fall off when you’re eating them. Thanks for the lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

