Skip to content

Stratford-upon-Avon aka Shakespeare’s House

February 2, 2012

This weekend I had the pleasure of visiting the little town of Startford-upon-Avon. Besides being one of the loveliest little British villages, it also happens to be where Shakespeare was born and raised until the age of 18! It was amazing to stand in the house where he stood and see the town that inspired so much of his work.

This is Shakespeare’s actual house! In this exact house he was born and raised for the first 18 years of his life.

*Sorry there aren’t more photos of inside the house. They have actors in each room and photography is strictly forbidden. On the upside though the actors are willing to recite scenes from any of Shakespeare’s plays on request. We got to hear a monologue from Othello. Did I mention they are dressed in full costume?

Here are some shots of other things around Stratford. I highly recommend this town to anyone who is traveling to England.

Complete with crooked houses

and barge art galleries. Who wants to buy me a cottage here?

We also made a few detours over the course of the day. Here are some photos of us at Anne Hatheway’s cottage. No, not the actress (no worries, I didn’t know there was another Anne Hatheway either–I don’t go to Oxford or anything) Anne Hatheway was Shakespeare’s wife and mother to his three children. The two married when he was only 18 and she was already pregnant. Quite the scandal. Also, they had twins. Who knew?

Anne’s cottage still has a lot of the original furniture from the 1600-1700s.

We also had a stroll around Stratford after visiting Shakespeare landmarks and stumbled upon two other Startford treasures.

One: The Box Brownie Cafe, home to the world’s best latte + shortbread combo

Two: This homemade miniature railroad of Stratford as it was in 1940. This man has been building it for the past 30 years and just dedicated this small room in his house to the project. It was amazing.

Believe it or not we actually made one other stop during the trip and I’ll be posting those photos soon.

Until then, Cheers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. k Elizabeth permalink
    February 3, 2012 9:28 am

    Shakespeare’s house, WOW!!! How cool! All the other photos are great2; thanks for sharing! :)

  2. February 4, 2012 10:47 pm

    Thanks for liking my post. I like your photo of the crooked house. I happened to come upon a similar shot when I visited Windsor. Right in the middle of the town was a house built at an angle. Rather a strange site to see, I haven’t put it on my blog yet but when I get around to putting up my photos of my trip to England/Ireland I will be sure to include it.

  3. Casey permalink
    February 5, 2012 3:23 pm

    I have to make a model of Shakespeare’s house in Stratford-upon-Avon for school. Do you have pictures of the backside of the house you can post?

Leave a Reply

