Skip to content

Lessons from Oxford: Week One

January 10, 2012

Although I haven’t actually had class yet I’ve learned quite a lot my first week here in the UK.

1. The true value of our lame dollar.

2. The privilege of taking books out of libraries. Most libraries here are reference only.

3. The persistence of British boys (aka they will call 21 times if you give them your number)

4. Some books are actually more valuable than my life and I must swear not to light them on fire or let my goat eat them.

5. Cider is one of the best alcoholic alternatives to beer.

6. A newfound appreciation for preservatives in American frozen food.

7. The streets in England change names about every block. Bring a map.

8. Starbucks tastes better in a take away cup than in a mug. If you don’t believe me try it.

9. Oxford has a Starbucks, McDonalds, KFC, Krispy Kreme, & Burger King. One for each night of the work week.

10. Oxford is actually Harry Potter land.

More to come as always.

Cheers.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 9:40 pm

    Epic school! Theres the real hogwarts!

  2. January 10, 2012 9:42 pm

    I whole-heartedly agree with #5

  3. January 10, 2012 10:06 pm

    this is so darling :) love the pics I’m glad you’re having a blast!

  4. January 11, 2012 10:43 am

    So excited to read this – I was in Oxford this summer.

    Don’t drink Strongbow though – Aspall or Thatchers all the way! You have to be legit. And while you’re at it, don’t forget to try fruli – strawberry beer for the win. Only some pubs have it (I suggest Cape of Good Hope or the Jericho Tavern). And my favorite pub was Chequers on High St but no fruli there.

    Also, ditch Starbucks and grab coffees from the Buttery on Broad St. Favorite sandwich shop EVER is The Alternative Tuck on Holywell (right down the street from the King’s Arms) – avocado cheese melts on fresh baked spinach ciabattas, anyone?

    Sorry for the information overload – but I’m sure you are already as enthused as I am.

    • January 11, 2012 12:53 pm

      Thanks so much for the tips! Although I have to disagree, I’ve tried both Thatchers & Strongbow & still prefer Strongbow. But both are good :)

      • January 11, 2012 3:04 pm

        Oh, for sure Strongbow is good – what I meant mostly was that Strongbow is definitely the touristy choice. Anyway, happy exploring. :)

      • January 11, 2012 9:09 pm

        Thanks :) Any advice on where to find mead? My friends & I want to try it at least once.

      • January 11, 2012 10:23 pm

        Hm, I never even thought of it! I wish I could help, but if you do find it somewhere, let me know! I’ll be back in Oxford for a week this summer and I’d love to try it as well.

Leave a Reply

