Skip to content

Child-Dance

December 8, 2011

Stumbled upon this today as I was working on a paper about the Beat Generation of the 1950s. Author Francis J. Rigney said “They [the Beats] felt free, and some were free, like children, until the chill wind of society blew against them:”

1

Dancing in the snow with no clothes on

and I wasn’t cold

snow on my face

and wind making cheeks pink

snow sitting on evergreen branches

branches like feathers

I am a feather too, feeling beautiful

and I wasn’t cold.

dancing soft

dancing in sweetness

white powder sprinkles in my hair

dancing

feet singing

arms free

dancing

dancing to the

snow god

and I wasn’t cold.

Dancing in the snow with no clothes on

and I wasn’t cold. I wasn’t cold. I wasn’t cold

until I saw them looking at me.

-Poem by Carol Mann, Beatitude, June 30, 1959.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

