Skip to content

Wish List

December 1, 2011

Image

My house on Christmas morning last year. 

I know I have been terrible at blogging these past two weeks. The stress of finals is starting to get a little overwhelming. When I’m not studying/writing one paper after another I am either sleeping or trying to keep up with Glee & Gossip Girl (pathetic, I know).

I also have been scouring the web for the perfect Oxford wardrobe. Everything stylish and “posh”–thank you Spice Girls for the insight into the UK– but also warm and useful to keep me comfy in the cold winter months of England.

Here’s what everyone has suggested I need so far:

1. A pair of strong, sturdy, waterproof boots to conquer the rain & the cobblestone Santana Canada: $144

2. A pair of cute booties for those chilly days where you still need to look extra fabulousMichael Antonio: $40

3. Chunky knits to keep warm–and stylish.

Zara: $17– I also just got a similar scarf from H&M for only $10.

4. Big leather satchel to fit my laptop & all of those ingenious books held in the Oxford libraries

The Cambridge Satchel Company: $135

Have any of you travelled to Europe in the winter? Any other items I should add to my list? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 4:27 am

    I was in London & Cambridge 3 weeks ago, and I loved the style there. I feel like the British college look is very classic, tailored nicely with traditional fabrics like tweed and tartan, with a little bit of a messy touch so that you don’t look like you’re trying too hard. I spent most of my time staring at the boys (because, how could you not???) and they had a pretty standard uniform of a cozy & classic sweater and rumpled chinos tucked into perfectly worn brown ankle boots. And they all loved to pop the collars just so on their winter jackets. Some of the girls were a little quirky, with big bows in their hair and large floral prints. I would say that heritage brands are pretty popular, and I think the pieces you have here will work perfectly. It also won’t be very cold (at least not as cold as I’m used to in New England), so you can actually wear a cute peacoat and mittens without being too cold.

    I’m so excited for you! I was only in England for 4 days and I want to go back so badly!

  2. December 5, 2011 11:06 pm

    Thank you so much for all the great tips! I am so jealous of your life right now and cannot wait to get back to Europe (mainly so I can get back to staring at the boys) haha. Oh the joys of being an American abroad. Safe travels back to New England!

Leave a Reply

